'39 Buick project/restoration

Oct 31, 2007
Kentucky
2 things first:

1. This is a project for now, not a restoration. I bought this car to use for a prop for Mobster Halloween pictures first. I can't tear it down yet because I need it presentable in October. That's what I'm doing now. It will be a full on restoration to 100% original after that (no rat rod, no hot rod)

2. I have ZERO hands-on experience doing this type of thing. Thus, don't expect to learn much from me other than the uniqueness of the car itself.

about the car:

1939 Buick Special Model 41

options added when new:
heater
parking lights
AM radio (the first car to ever have a push button AM radio)
pin striped wheels

standard equipment:
it was originally black with "tan bedford cord" interior
4 ashtrays, no seat belts, no cupholders :wink:
107 HP straight-8 called the "Buick Eight"
3 speed on the column
turn signals (the first car to ever have standard turn signals)

here are initial pics, including proof that I have done some work to it :D

Remember if you question my techniques, refer to rule #1 until 11/1/09 :read: :D

looking through the trunk after I vacuumed the loose rust, acorns, and dead mouse skeletons (about 5-6 of those):

:eek: The first time I've sanded on sheet metal.

Renee took the 1950's covers off the seats. They actually look better without them:

before:

after:

Oct 31, 2007
Kentucky
Re: '39 Buick project/restoration

Basically for now I'm going to get the pass side sanded and primed since we only need one side for pictures.

I'm also browsing eBay for deals on parts I'll need down the road. I scored a rear badge for $23 yesterday :rocking: (They are $65-$75 from the resto parts mags.)

I hope some of you will find this as interesting as I do. I just love the look and style of these old cars.

hoseman44

Nov 13, 2005
somerset nj